Levels of Review



Levels of Review

There are three levels at which an IRB application can be submitted for review. Read each description to determine the level of your research.

Exempt Status (Level I) 
Research is reviewed for Exempt status (Level I review), by an IRB committee member if it involves very minimal or no risk.

Expedited Review (Level II)
In general, research may be considered for Expedited review if it involves no more than minimal risk, does not include intentional deception, does not employ sensitive populations or topics, and includes appropriate consent procedures.

Full Review (Level III)
In general research requiring Full review places the subject at greater than minimal risk.