Clinical Learning



Clinical Learning

The 14 months of clinical experience time is divided into three learning blocks, each consisting of several practice locations and different medical specialties with emphasis on primary care. 

Several weeks of elective time allow St. Kate's students the opportunity to customize their own learning with a focus toward specific areas of interest, global perspectives or strengthening areas of self-assessed weakness. Students will use an electronic database to log patient encounters during their supervised clinical experiences.  

Primary care internships include:

  • Family Medicine
  • Women's Health
  • Pediatrics
  • Internal Medicine

Assigned specialty internships include:

  • General surgery
  • Emergency medicine
  • Mental Health

Students will have experiences in clinical locations such as:

  • Out-patient ambulatory practices
  • Hospitals
  • Surgical settings
  • Emergency departments
  • Long-term care facilities